MY ARTIST OF THE WEEK: American Football – EMO-Math Rock from Illnois

With their latest release in 2016, their LP2 (It’s really just called American Football), has been in my head since then. I picked up their latest vinyl from a local store and haven’t even opened it yet. American Football was one of a kind. If you read some of the comments from their videos, they been colloquially known as “emo dad rock” or “sad dad rock”. They been around since the late 90s to early 2000s and broke up. They reunited 16 years ago and dropped this album. While their latest release doesn’t give me a warmth feeling it does hold a special place in my heart. There isn’t a “Never Meant” on this album but it does have their ups and downs. I would say this is more like Owen (Mike Kinsella’s side project who is the lead singer of AF) but it’s still pretty good.

Never Meant has been parodied into memes so many times it has become a staple in the community.

The opening riff to this song/album is amazing and it gets you going. You can kind of expect what’s going to be played next. Though it may sound repetitive, it’s actually pretty technical in terms of the tunings the band is playing in. This is American Football’s most famous song.

 

 

Home is Where The Haunt is, is one of my favorite songs from their latest release. This release might have gotten some hate saying that it’s not comparable to their first release I say it has it’s charms. It’s catchy, it’s laid back and helps me code. I’m getting pretty old and these guys are old as well… Listening to them gives me a melancholy feeling and I somewhat like it. I mean I don’t want to be sad but sometimes it’s nice to feel sad.

 

 

I’ve Been So Lost For So Long is another good song to a goofy music video. Anyways, if you guys are a fan of this kind of music go ahead and step in to the world of sad dad rock. You can listen to them where music is available.

Official Website: http://www.americanfootballmusic.com/

Can be found on: Spotify, Amazon, iTunes, and many more.

Leave a Reply

